DREAM FACTORY

Aluminum, foams, clay, epoxy: Milling, drilling

Hufschmied machining systems for model making

Design studios and development departments in industry are the dream factories where a piece of the future is created every day. Hufschmied supports industrial designers and engineers to verify their design and functional concepts. Whether industrial models, prototypes, trade show models, automotive or functional models: Hufschmied has specialized tools for all processes and materials. For models in first-class quality, and usually much shorter machining processes. Our BlockBuster and ClayStar® series are more than just tools: they are an holistic process that consistently follows the idea: from the idea to the model in the shortest possible time. In this way, we accelerate innovation cycles and quickly bring dreams within reach for our customers.

Various materials are used in industrial master pattern making. In addition to tried-and-tested aluminum, engineers are increasingly using board materials to make master models.

Hufschmied BlockBuster – efficient machining of sheet materials

With the BlockBuster tool family, Hufschmied has developed specialized tools that are characterized by low cutting pressure and reduced heat generation. Both of these features favor very cost-effective machining of all panel materials in model making. Roughing and finishing are performed with one and the same tool in a single operation without tool changes. For machining plastic board material, the BlockBuster is available with large diameters of up to 25 mm and lengths of up to 300 mm.

Board material in various densities is used as the material for model making. The dimensionally stable material offers all possibilities in the construction of master models, design, styling and cubing models as well as various molds, foundry tools, core boxes and gauges.

Low cutting forces are required for machining the material to mill even complex 3-D structures and thin-walled webs on the workpiece. Machining is demanding, and some of the molds have very deep cavities where a lot of material must be removed. One of the biggest challenges facing the industry is to increase productivity and reduce machine hours per part – while maintaining the highest quality standards, of course. This also increases the demands on the mold used; very tight tolerances must be guaranteed.

With conventional tools, you have to program up to 7 steps to be able to produce a complex mold. And this also requires different tools for roughing, finishing and rest machining. With the new BlockBuster, on the other hand, you only need one tool.

Machining board materials for model making

There are various board materials for the production of master patterns. Ureol® is considered a particularly popular material. Engineers in mold and fixture construction also rely on the material. In particular, the good machinability with low dust formation and the absence of distortion of the part surface make the material useful for model making. The repair or reworking of defective areas as well as the bonding of different blocks is possible without any problems.

High-performance tools for the best perfect results in model making - with almost any material.

For best results when milling Ureol, Hufschmied has developed the Proto-Line with torus cutters and full radius cutters in the High-Performance Tools product range.

Machining aluminum in prototype and model construction

Hufschmied also offers specialized process-optimizing tools for the high demands of aluminum machining in prototype and model construction.

Application example board material machining:
Time saving in perfection

Board material in various densities is used as a material for model making. The dimensionally stable material offers many possibilities in the construction of master models, design, styling and cubing models as well as various molds, casting tools, core boxes and gauges.

Faster and cheaper to prototype - with innovative machining and without tool changes.

Low cutting forces are required to machine the component in order to mill even complex 3-D structures and thin-walled webs on the part. The machining is demanding; some of the molds have very deep cavities where a lot of material has to be removed. One of the biggest challenges is to increase productivity and reduce the machine hours per component – while, of course, maintaining the highest quality standards. This also increases the requirements for the tool used; tolerances must be guaranteed.

To machine board material with conventional tools, you have to program up to 7 steps to produce a complex shape. And this also requires different tools for roughing, finishing and rest machining. With the new BlockBuster from Hufschmied, on the other hand, you only need 1 tool.

The design of the substrate and geometry are critical to the productivity and performance of the tool. Our new BlockBuster is designed for cost-effective machining of all sheet materials. All geometries are optimized for the board material.

Industry burner

394RO

BlockBuster – Block material

  • Highest feed rates up to milling speed “G0” without loss of quality
  • Uniformly large chips due to patented skiving geometry facilitates extraction (resource efficiency farrier – booklet link)
  • Special toothing types also available for thermoplastic, CFRP, GRP materials
  • Skiving geometry guarantees highest metal removal rates
  • Highest process stability for filigree structures through compression cutting
  • One tool geometry for roughing and finishing

→ 50% faster to the finished model

8000 more products

TRAUM FABRIKEN

Aluminium, Schäume, Clay, Epoxy: Fräsen, Bohren

Hufschmied Zerspanungssysteme für den Modellbau

Design-Studios und Entwicklungsabteilungen der Industrie sind die Traumfabriken, in denen Tag für Tag ein Stück Zukunft entsteht. Hufschmied unterstützt Industrie-Designer und Ingenieure dabei, ihre Gestaltungs- und funktionalen Konzepte zu überprüfen. Ob Industriemodell, Prototyp, Messemodell, Automotive- oder Funktionsmodelle: Für alle Prozesse und Werkstoffe gibt es spezialisierte Werkzeuge von Hufschmied. Für Modelle in erstklassiger Qualität, und meistens sehr viel kürzere Bearbeitungsprozesse. Unsere BlockBuster und ClayStar® Serien sind mehr als Werkzeuge: Sie sind ein ganzheitlicher Prozess, der konsequent der Idee folgt: vom Gedanken bis zum Modell in möglichst kurzer Zeit. So beschleunigen wir Innovationszyklen und machen Träume für unsere Kunden schnell greifbar nah.

Im industriellen Urmodellbau kommen verschiedene Werkstoffe zum Einsatz. Neben dem bewährten Aluminium verwenden Ingenieure zunehmend Blockmaterialien, um Urmodelle anzufertigen.

Hufschmied BlockBuster – Plattenwerkstoffe effizient zerspanen

Mit der Werkzeugfamilie BlockBuster hat Hufschmied spezialisierte Werkzeuge entwickelt, die sich durch geringen Schnittdruck und verminderte Wärmeentwicklung auszeichnen. Beides begünstigt eine sehr kosteneffektive Zerspanung sämtlicher Plattenwerkstoffe im Modellbau. Schruppen und Schlichten erfolgen hier mit ein- und demselben Werkzeug ohne Werkzeugwechsel in einem Arbeitsgang. Für die Bearbeitung von Kunststoffblockmaterial ist der BlockBuster mit großen Durchmessern von bis zu 25 mm und Längen von bis zu 300 mm lieferbar.

Als Werkstoff für den Modellbau wird Blockmaterial in verschiedener Dichte verwendet. Das formstabile Material bietet alle Möglichkeiten beim Bau von Urmodellen, Design-, Styling- und Cubing-Modellen sowie diversen Formen, Gießereiwerkzeugen, Kernkästen und Lehren.

Für die Zerspanung des Werkstoffs sind geringe Schnittkräfte nötig, um selbst komplexe 3-D-Strukturen und dünnwandige Stege am Werkstück zu fräsen. Die Bearbeitung ist anspruchsvoll, die Formen haben zum Teil sehr tiefe Kavitäten, bei denen sehr viel Material entfernt werden muss. Eine der größten Herausforderungen an die Branche ist die Steigerung der Produktivität und die Reduzierung der Maschinenstunden pro Bauteil – selbstverständlich bei höchsten Qualitätsansprüchen. Damit steigen auch die Anforderungen an das eingesetzte Werkzeug, sehr enge Toleranzen müssen hier garantiert sein.

Mit konventionellen Werkzeugen müssen Sie bis zu 7 Schritte programmieren, um eine komplexe Form herstellen zu können. Und dabei sind auch noch unterschiedliche Werkzeuge zum Schruppen, Schlichten und zur Restmaterialbearbeitung nötig. Mit dem neuen BlockBuster brauchen Sie dagegen nur noch ein Werkzeug.

Blockmaterialien für den Modellbau bearbeiten

Für die Herstellung von Urmodellen gibt es verschiedene Blockmaterialien. Ureol® gilt dabei als besonders beliebter Werkstoff. Auch Ingenieure im Formen- und Vorrichtungsbau setzen auf das Material. Besonders die gute Zerspanbarkeit bei geringer Staubentwicklung und die Verzugsfreiheit der Werkstückoberfläche machen den Stoff für den Modellbau interessant. Das Ausbessern oder Nacharbeiten von Fehlerstellen sowie das Verkleben verschiedener Blöcke ist ohne Probleme möglich.

High-Performance-Tools für beste perfekte Ergebnisse im Modellbau – mit nahezu jedem Material.

Für beste Ergebnisse beim Fräsen von Ureol hat Hufschmied im Produktbereich High-Performance-Tools die Proto-Line mit Torusfräsern und Vollradiusfräsern entwickelt.

Aluminium bearbeiten im Prototypen- und Modellbau

Auch für die hohen Anforderungen bei der Aluminium-Bearbeitung im Prototypen- und Modellbau bietet Hufschmied spezialisierte prozessoptimierende Werkzeuge an.

Anwendungsbeispiel Blockmaterial-Bearbeitung:
Time saving in Vollendung

Als Werkstoff für den Modellbau wird Blockmaterial in verschiedener Dichte verwendet. Das formstabile Material bietet alle Möglichkeiten beim Bau von Urmodellen, Design-, Styling- und Cubing-Modellen sowie diversen Formen, Gießereiwerkzeugen, Kernkästen und Lehren.

Schneller und günstiger zum Prototyp – mit innovativer Bearbeitung und ohne Werkzeugwechsel.

Für die Zerspanung des Bauteils sind geringe Schnittkräfte nötig, um selbst komplexe 3-D-Strukturen und dünnwandige Stege am Werkstück zu fräsen. Die Bearbeitung ist anspruchsvoll, die Formen haben zum Teil sehr tiefe Kavitäten, bei denen sehr viel Material entfernt werden muss. Eine der größten Herausforderungen ist die Steigerung der Produktivität und die Reduzierung der Maschinenstunden pro Bauteil – selbstverständlich bei höchsten Qualitätsansprüchen. Damit steigen auch die Anforderungen für das eingesetzte Werkzeug, Toleranzen müssen hier garantiert sein.

Um Blockmaterial mit konventionellen Werkzeugen zu bearbeiten, müssen Sie bis zu 7 Schritte programmieren, um eine komplexe Form herzustellen. Und dabei sind auch noch unterschiedliche Werkzeuge zum Schruppen, Schlichten und zur Restmaterialbearbeitung nötig. Mit dem neuen BlockBuster von Hufschmied benötigen Sie dagegen nur noch 1 Werkzeug.

Die Auslegung von Substrat und Geometrie sind entscheidend für Produktivität und Leistungsfähigkeit des Werkzeugs. Unser neuer BlockBuster ist für die kosteneffektive Zerspanung sämtlicher Plattenwerkstoffe ausgelegt. Alle Geometrien sind für das Blockmaterial optimiert.

Branchenbrenner

394RO

BlockBuster – Blockmaterial

  • Höchste Vorschübe bis zu Fräsgeschwindigkeit „G0“ ohne Qualitätsverlust
  • Gleichmäßig große Späne durch patentierte Schälschnittgeometrie erleichtert das Absaugen (Ressourceneffizienz Hufschmied – Booklet Verlinken)
  • Spezielle Verzahnungstypen auch für Thermoplast, CFK-, GFK-Werkstoffe verfügbar
  • Schälschnittgeometrie garantiert höchstes Zeitspanungsvolumen 
  • Höchste Prozess-Stabilität für filigrane Strukturen durch Kompressionsschneiden
  • Eine Werkzeuggeometrie für Schruppen und Schlichten

→ 50% schneller zum fertigen Modell

8000 weitere Produkte